Databases

Search

Categories


1950 Census

Categories: Genealogy

The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.

A to Z Databases

Categories: Business & Government

A to Z Databases is a research tool for public and academic libraries, and offers database access to U.S. businesses and residential listings, as well as U.S healthcare, consumer and employer databases. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

ABCya

Categories: Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Online Resources

ABCya provides over 400 fun and educational games for grades PreK through 6. Games are categorized by grade and subject, and cover topics such as multiplication, parts of speech, typing, pattern recognition, and more.

Academic OneFile

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Full-text and abstract periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, literature, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Ancestry.com

Categories: Genealogy

Discover your family history and start your family tree. Access billions of genealogy records including Census, Social Security Death Index, and Military records. Ancestry.com must be accessed using a computer at the Gates Public Library.

Ask a Librarian

Categories: Health

From the University of Rochester Medical Center, Edward G. Miner Library, patrons can send a question, request a literature search, meet with a Librarian, and virtually chat with a Librarian.

AudioBookCloud

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Online Resources, What to Read Next

Listen online to audio books in many different categories: fiction, non-fiction, classics and Spanish language. There are 1,000 books in the collection. These books are always available, never on hold, and no need to download. Brought to you by the New York Public Library.

Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.

Categories: Academic & Scientific

A selection of freely available primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Britannica Academic Edition

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Online Resources

An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Britannica Escolar

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Encyclopedia that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Two levels, Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school, offer unique content that is of interest to every student. Search easily across levels by topic or subject area. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Britannica School

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Online Resources

Thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases for elementary, middle, or high school students. There is Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Business Insights: Essentials

Categories: Business & Government

Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Business Insights: Essentials

Categories: Business & Government

Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale’s core business collection. Deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.

Code.org

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Technology

Code.org is a nonprofit dedicated to expanding access to computer science in schools and increasing participation by women and underrepresented youth.

Consumer Reports

Categories: Newspapers & Magazines

Find product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends, and recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Coursera

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Business & Government, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Technology

Coursera is a powerful tool for free online education, and includes courses from many top universities, museums and trusts. This gives the site an extremely wide range of in-depth courses.

EBSCO GreenFILE

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Scholarly, government and general interest titles exploring the relationship between human beings and the environment.

EBSCO Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Covers subjects of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

EBSCO Teacher Reference Center

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Covers on key education topics for K-12 teachers and librarians. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Educator’s Reference Complete

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Federal Domestic Assistance Listings

Categories: Business & Government

Assistance listings are detailed public descriptions of federal programs that provide grants, loans, scholarships, insurance, and other types of assistance awards. You may browse assistance listings across all government agencies to learn about potential funding sources.

Flocabulary

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

An educational resource that brings hip-hop and videos for all subjects K-12 together!

Foundation Directory Online Essential

Categories: Business & Government

Explore 103,000+ expanded grantmaker profiles, 300,000+ key decision makers and leaders, Searchable 990s and 990-PDFs, as well as FDO Workspace. Click here for details on availability and instructions for creating an account.

FunBrain

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Fun Brain is another good option for kids who want to learn online, but focuses on games and fun puzzles. Particularly focused on math and reading, Fun Brain’s game based approach can be valuable if the child in question struggles to pay attention.

Gale Books & Authors

Categories: What to Read Next

Answer the age-old question, “What do I read next?” Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.

Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Reference

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Gale Directory Library

Categories: Business & Government

Covers early stage investors including: venture capitalists, business incubators, angel investors, corporate investment divisions, crowd-funding and co-operative groups. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Gale General OneFile

Categories: Newspapers & Magazines

This database contains abstracts and full text news and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale Health and Wellness

Categories: Health

Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale in Context: Elementary (Formerly Kids Infobits)

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

For beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale in Context: Middle School

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Categories: Reference

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale Literature Criticism

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Gale Literature: Book Review Index

Categories: What to Read Next

Quickly access reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media representing a wide range of interests.

Gale Literature: Something About the Author

Categories: Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale’s acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

Categories: Academic & Scientific

Spanish and Portuguese scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship

Categories: Business & Government

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Categories: Health

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale OneFile: News

Categories: Newspapers & Magazines

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day’s news and searchable archives. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

Categories: Health

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

HeritageQuest

Categories: Genealogy

A powerful and popular genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.

Hoopla

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Newspapers & Magazines, What to Read Next

As a resident of Gates, you have access to Hoopla- a digital media service that allow you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later.

Khan Academy

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Technology

A nonprofit organization with free educational resources. During the school closures, Khan Academy has created guides, daily schedules and free webinars to be used by parents and teachers.

More about signing up here: https://khanacademy.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360040167432-How-can-Khan-Academy-be-used-for-remote-learning-during-school-closures-

LOTE Online for Kids

Categories: Educational Resources for Children & Teens

LOTE Online for Kids allows children to enjoy the magic of books in World Languages from the comfort of home. Each book is provided with an English translation to help develop multilingual reading and listening skills.

MCLS Databases

Categories: Reference

A comprehensive list of all Monroe County Library System (MCLS) Databases available to all Monroe County residents. Log in with your library card to access these databases.

Medici.tv

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming

The largest online catalogue of classical and jazz music, opera and dance videos.

Medline Plus

Categories: Health

MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world’s largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.

National Geographic Kids

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Newspapers & Magazines

National Geographic Kids is another site that makes free online education applicable for younger users. For those looking for kid friendly education, a large variety of games, puzzles, videos and photos keeps kids interested on this site.

New York Times

Categories: Newspapers & Magazines

Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985). Provided by the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Newspapers.com

Categories: Newspapers & Magazines

This is the largest online newspaper archive, with 11,500+ newspapers from the 1700s–2019, and it is constantly updated. It includes the Democrat and Chronicle from 1871-the present day. It is an excellent resource for all kinds of research, especially history and genealogy. Newspapers.com can only be used at the Gates Public Library. Please ask a reference librarian for help logging into Newspapers.com.

NOVELNY Databases

Categories: Reference

New York Online Electronic Library (NOVELNY) is an online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker. Log in with your library card to access these databases.

Open Culture

Categories: Academic & Scientific, E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.

Overdrive

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Newspapers & Magazines, What to Read Next

Browse, check out, and download audiobooks, eBooks, music and videos right to your home computer or mobile device! Click here to view the entire catalog of titles and for full instructions.

Reliable Health Information Websites

Categories: Health

From the Libraries at Rochester Regional Health, a list of helpful medical information websites.

Rochester History

Categories: Genealogy, Reference

A journal produced by the Rochester Public Library which covers the history of Rochester and western New York. All articles are available on-line from 1939 to the present.

Rochester Images

Categories: Genealogy, Reference

Search thousands of historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.

Rochester Museum & Science Center (RMSC)

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens

Visit the RMSC website for science videos and home experiment activities to keep science discovery happening at home! Be sure to check out their Youtube, Facebook, and Instagram pages for more videos and activities!

SimplyE

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, What to Read Next

The New York Public Library has taken steps to expand access to their online offerings. You may apply for a library card through SimplyE to gain access to an array of digital resources, including e-books and audiobooks, as well as databases available from home.

Sora App

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Newspapers & Magazines, What to Read Next

Did you know all students of the Gates Chili School District have access to Sora? In collaboration with Monroe BOCES 2 and GCSD, Sora is a FREE collection of ebooks and audiobooks for independent, self-directed, or teacher-assigned reading. Students can read or listen to these books using a Chromebook, desktop computer, or personal mobile device. 

Below are downloadable directions from the Gates School District:

Sign into the Sora App

Visit https://soraapp.com/welcome and follow the instructions to get started.

Tech-Talk

Categories: Reference, Technology

Tech-Talk arms you with the missing technology (and communications) skills you need to get good grades, better jobs and higher pay. It is digital learning with easy-to-read articles, videos, and other fun stuff with the tips and tricks you need to be competitive in today’s hi-tech world.

Ted Ed

Categories: Academic & Scientific, Educational Resources for Children & Teens, Technology

TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative that supports learning around the globe.

TeenBookCloud

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Newspapers & Magazines, What to Read Next

A collection of videos and books in a variety of different categories including e-books, read- alongs, graphic novels, videos, and audiobooks brought to you by the New York Public Library.

Top Health Websites For Health Consumers and Patients

Categories: Health

A list of health websites presented by the Medical Library Association (MLA).

TumbleBookLibrary

Categories: E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, Newspapers & Magazines, What to Read Next

A K-6 children’s ebook database brought to you by TumbleBooks.

TumbleMath

Categories: Academic & Scientific, E-books, Audiobooks & Video Streaming, What to Read Next

A K-6 math ebook database brought to you by TumbleBooks.

VIN Decoder

Categories: Reference

Enter your vehicle’s 17-character Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to receive an instant report on its manufacturer, brand, make and model, body style, engine size, assembly plant, and model year.

What’s Next Database

Categories: What to Read Next

This database chronicles the publication order of a variety of popular series.

WorldCat

Categories: What to Read Next

A worldwide catalog of library materials. Provided by the Monroe County Library System.